MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – The State Arts Office, West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History (WVDACH) and the West Virginia Commission on the Arts (WVCA) announces two new Certified Arts Communities designations. Monongalia County and the City of Morgantown (Monongalia County) have both been awarded this honor.

Monongalia County and the City of Morgantown both continuously work hard to advocate for the arts and to show how the arts play an intentional and integral role in community planning and development,” said WVDACH Curator Randall Reid-Smith. “It is important we honor these communities throughout West Virginia with the recognition they deserve.

The Certified Arts Community (CAC) designation is for communities that have realized the benefits of cooperation between arts and humanities groups, business leaders and jurisdictional agencies. To be eligible, communities must support arts organizations by providing volunteer governance, financial contributions and audiences for arts programming; adopt a resolution indicating recognition of the importance of the arts to economic development, educational quality and civic involvement; and demonstrate successful collaborations between arts, humanities and heritage groups, and business leaders and jurisdictional agencies.

Applications for the CAC program must be submitted with any required attachments, including letters of support, resolutions of governing authorities and other documentation of fulfillment of qualification. The WVDACH State Arts Office reviews applications to the CAC program and forwards successful applications to the WVCA for final approval.

For an application or more information about the Certified Arts Communities, visit or contact Lance Schrader, WVDACH director of arts, at or (304) 558-0240.