Certified Arts Communities are cities, towns, counties, or areas full of people who have realized the benefits of cooperation among arts and humanities groups, business leaders, government agencies, and residents. Communities that have been thus designated have demonstrated a dedication to helping the arts thrive through collaboration. If you’re interested in seeking this designation for your community, you can find the application here.

West Virginia currently has ten certified arts communities:

  • Berkeley Springs
    Recognized in 2006
  • Lewisburg
    Recognized in 2007
  • Wood County
    Recognized in 2008
  • Mercer County
    Recognized in 2009
  • Elkins
    Recognized in 2010
  • Wheeling
    Recognized in 2010
  • Jefferson County
    Recognized in 2010
  • Huntington
    Recognized in 2014
  • Morgantown
    Recognized in 2020
  • Monongalia County
    Recognized in 2020