Click on the video to learn more about preparing for History Bowl


For more information about the History Bowl, contact Royce Diehl at or (304) 558-0230.

2023 Regional History Bowl Winners

Region 1:

Park Middle School Team 1, Champion

Independence Middle School Team 1, Runner-Up

Region 2:

Barboursville Middle School Team 1, Champion

Huntington Middle School Team 2, Runner-Up

Region 3:

Winfield Middle School, Champion

Hurricane Middle School Team 1, Runner-Up

Region 4:

Summersville Middle School Team 1, Champion

Mountain View Christian, Runner-Up

Region 5:

Edison Middle School Team 1, Champion

Jackson Middle School Team 2, Runner-Up

Region 6:

Sherrard Middle School Team 1, Champion

Sherrard Middle School Team 2, Runner-Up

Region 7:

South Middle School Team 2, Champion

South Middle School Team 1, Runner-Up

Region 8:

Keyser Middle School Team 2, Champion

Frankfort Middle School Team 2, Runner-Up

2023 Play-In Tournament

Doddridge County Middle School Team 1, Champion

Charles Town Middle School, Runner-Up

Peterstown Middle School Team 1

Peterstown Middle School Team 2

Saint Joseph School Team 1

Shady Spring Middle School Team 1

Shepherdstown Middle School Team 1

Shepherdstown Middle School Team 2 

2023 History Bowl Schedule

Tournament Rules

In 2010, what was then the West Virginia Division of Culture and History, now the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History, began an exciting new challenge for eighth graders to test their West Virginia history: the West Virginia History Bowl Tournament. Teams of students from around the state face off in an academic bowl competition focusing on West Virginia history, literature, arts, architecture, geography and culture.

The West Virginia History Bowl expanded in 2011 to include regional tournaments in all eight West Virginia Regional Service Education Agency (RESA) districts.

Eighth graders in public, private and home school education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams in double-elimination tournament play. The regional tournament winners and the runner-up team move forward to the state tournament held in late April at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex, in Charleston.

The questions for the history bowl are largely drawn from questions found in the Archives and History Quick Quizzes and Daily Trivia.

2023 History Bowl Seed Drawing

Previous Tournament Results

2022 History Bowl winners
Sherrard Middle School Team One, 2022 History Bowl Champions

History Bowl 2022
History Bowl 2020 & 2021
History Bowl 2019
History Bowl 2018
History Bowl 2017
History Bowl 2016
History Bowl 2015
History Bowl 2014
History Bowl 2013
History Bowl 2012
History Bowl 2011
History Bowl 2010