VIENNA, W.Va. – Jackson Middle School Team Two, with students Cecelia Fatta, Matthew Pierson, Jack Ralsten, and Ian Stengel, won the West Virginia Division of Culture and History’s Region 5 tournament for the 2017 West Virginia History Bowl on Saturday, Feb. 4, at Jackson Middle School in Vienna, Wood County. Jackson Middle School Team One, with students Emily Fowler, Moiz Hamirani, Spencer Hughes and Hunter Turner, was the runner-up.

Region 5 is made up of students from Calhoun, Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt and Wood counties. Competitors included teams from Calhoun Middle/High School (one team), Mt. Zion, Calhoun County; Edison Middle School (one team), Parkersburg, Wood County; Jackson Middle School (two teams), Vienna, Wood County; Ravenswood Middle School (two teams), Ravenswood, Jackson County; Ritchie County Middle School (two teams), Ellenboro, Ritchie County; and Wirt County Middle School (one team), Elizabeth, Wirt County.

The West Virginia History Bowl features questions compiled by the staff of Archives and History about the state’s architecture, arts, culture, geography, government, history, people, literature and sports.

The Archives and History staff has developed more than 2,000 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams that are preparing for the History Bowl tournaments may use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the division’s website,

Eighth graders in public, private and homeschool education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams in double-elimination tournament play. The regional winners and runner-up teams from each RESA district will then advance to the state tournament, which will take place April 26 at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex in Charleston.

For more information about the annual competition, contact Matt McGrew, History Bowl coordinator, at (304) 558-0230 or

The West Virginia Division of Culture and History is an agency within the Office of Secretary of Education and the Arts with Gayle Manchin, cabinet secretary. The division, led by Commissioner Randall Reid-Smith, brings together the past, present and future through programs and services focusing on archives and history, arts, historic preservation and museums. For more information about the division’s programs, events and sites, visit The Division of Culture and History is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer.

– 30 –