CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The Governor’s Cup Marching Band Series award winners were recognized after the final competition at Philip Barbour High School in Philippi on Saturday, Oct. 30. The Governor’s Cup Marching Band Series is a culmination of ten local high school marching band competitions, including the annual West Virginia Marching Band Invitational (WVMBI) and finals competition at Philip Barbour. Cabell Midland High School, Cabell County, is the Governor’s Cup Grand Champion.

            The other finalists for the Governor’s Cup Marching Band Competition are as follows: 1st runner-up, Hurricane High School, Putnam County; 2nd runner-up, Greenbrier East High School, Greenbrier County; 3rd runner-up, Paden City High School, Wetzel County; 4th runner-up, Parkersburg South High School, Wood County.

            To be eligible for the Governor’s Cup Final awards, marching bands had to compete in at least three of the local qualifier competitions, as well as the WVMBI Championships on Oct. 23 at Laidley Field in Charleston and compete in the Governor’s Cup Finals competition. Their three best scores plus their score at the WVMBI and Governor’s Cup Finals determined the final scores for the series.

            The West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History, along with sponsorship from the West Virginia Department of Education, contributed to the prizes awarded to each school for the series of competitions.

            Local competitions were held at Spring Valley High School, Huntington, Wayne County; Cabell Midland High School, Ona, Cabell County; Hurricane High School, Hurricane, Putnam County; Wyoming East High School, New Richmond, Wyoming County; Woodrow Wilson High School, Beckley, Raleigh County; Parkersburg South High School, Parkersburg, Wood County; Musselman High School, Inwood, Berkeley County; and Philip Barbour High School, Philippi, Barbour County.

            For more information about the Governor’s Cup Marching Band Series, contact Andrea Nelson, public information specialist for the department, or 304-558-0220.