CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The sixth annual West Virginia Marching Band Invitational Championship will feature high school bands from around the state on Saturday, Oct. 21, at the University of Charleston Stadium, Laidley Field. The invitational will include competition and exhibition performances this year.  Hurricane Middle School will open the event at 10 a.m.

“We are pleased to have bands from around the state attending this year’s invitational,” West Virginia Division of Culture and History Commissioner Randall Reid-Smith said. “This is the largest number we have had to date, with schools from small to large class levels.”

This past spring, the West Virginia State Legislature proclaimed this invitational “The Official State Marching Band Championship of West Virginia.” 

The invitational includes competition judging for music, music effect, general effect, marching, percussion, drum major, color guard, majorettes and twirlers. A Miss Majorette competition is also held at the event.

Throughout the afternoon and evening, five band directors will be inducted into the Marching Band Hall of Fame.

“This invitational gives us an opportunity to showcase the musical talents of West Virginia students,” said Reid-Smith. “For the past several years, the division has partnered with VH1 Save The Music Foundation and generous donors around the state to provide musical instruments to middle schools throughout the Mountain State. Now, these students are moving into high school where they are helping to grow those marching bands. This invitational is a way for us to highlight that growing interest in music.”

The invitational will begin at 10 a.m. and continue throughout the day, culminating in an awards program that evening. Admission is $8 for ages 12 and older and $7 for 11 and younger.

The schedule for the day is:

10 a.m.            Hurricane Middle School
10:15 a.m.       Greenbrier East High School
10:30 a.m.       Buffalo High School
10:45 a.m.       Calhoun Middle/High School
11 a.m.            Independence High School
11:15 a.m.       Wirt County High School
11:30 a.m.       Chapmanville High School
11:45 a.m.       Saint Marys High School
12 p.m.           Huntington High School
12:45 p.m.      Hannan Senior/Middle School
1 p.m.             Tyler Consolidated High School
1:15 p.m.        Shady Spring High School
1:30 p.m.        Wyoming East High School
1:45 p.m.        Paden City High School
2 p.m.             Webster County High School
2:15 p.m.        Greenbrier West High School
2:30 p.m.        Tygarts Valley High School
3 p.m.             Saint Albans High School
3:15 p.m.        Parkersburg High School
3:30 p.m.        Westside High School
3:45 p.m.        Doddridge County High School
4 p.m.             Weir High School
4:15 p.m.        Spring Valley High School
4:30 p.m.        Ravenswood High School
4:45 p.m.        Ritchie County High School
5 p.m.             Hall of Fame Presentation
5:15 p.m.        Poca High School
5:30 p.m.        Ripley High School
5:45 p.m.        Woodrow Wilson High School
6 p.m.             Sissonville High School
6:15 p.m.        Wayne County High School
6:30 p.m.        Nicholas County High School
6:45 p.m.        Philip Barbour High School
7 p.m.             Jefferson High School
7:15 p.m.        Hall of Fame Presentation
7:30 p.m.        Lincoln County High School
7:45 p.m.        Wahama Senior/Middle School
8 p.m.             Richwood High School
8:15 p.m.        Elkins High School
8:30 p.m.        Cabell Midland High School
8:45 p.m.        Miss Majorette Competition
9 p.m.             Hall of Fame Presentation/Invitational Awards Presentations

The division, led by Commissioner Randall Reid-Smith, is an agency within the Office of Secretary of Education and the Arts with Gayle Manchin, cabinet secretary. It brings together the past, present and future through programs and services focusing on archives and history, arts, historic preservation and museums. For more information about the division’s programs, events and sites, visit The Division of Culture and History is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer.