WESTON, W.Va. – South Middle School Team One, with students Katelyn Blosser, Nolan Cook, Elijah Hall and Julia Leyden, won the West Virginia Division of Culture and History’s Region 7 tournament for the 2018 West Virginia History Bowl on Saturday, March 10, at Robert L. Bland Middle School, Weston, Lewis County. South Middle School Team Two, with students Megan Brozik, Eden Forguson, Carris Seagraves and Kylie Tuttle, was the runner-up.

Region 7 is made up of students from Barbour, Doddridge, Gilmer, Harrison, Lewis, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, Randolph, Taylor, Tucker and Upshur counties. Competitors included teams from Belington Middle School (one team), Belington, Barbour County; Buckhannon-Upshur Middle School (one team), Buckhannon, Upshur County; Mountaineer Middle School (two teams), Morgantown, Monongalia County; Notre Dame High School (one team), Clarksburg, Harrison County; Philippi Middle School (two teams), Philippi, Barbour County; Robert L. Bland Middle School (two teams), Weston, Lewis County; South Middle School (two teams), Morgantown, Monongalia County; St. Francis Central Catholic (two teams), Morgantown, Monongalia County; and Taylor County Middle School (two teams), Grafton, Taylor County.       

The West Virginia History Bowl features questions compiled by the staff of Archives and History about the state’s architecture, arts, culture, geography, government, history, people, literature and sports.

The Archives and History staff has developed more than 2,000 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams that are preparing for the History Bowl tournaments may use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the division’s website,

Eighth graders in public, private and homeschool education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams in double-elimination tournament play. The regional winners and runner-up teams from each region will then advance to the state tournament, which will take place April 24 at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex in Charleston.

For more information about the annual competition, contact Matt McGrew, History Bowl coordinator, at (304) 558-0230 or

– 30 –