WHEELING, W.Va. – Sherrard Middle School Team One, with students Pearl Chambers, Maria Evans, Paige Messner and Tora McNeil, won the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History’s Region 6 tournament for the 2019 West Virginia History Bowl on Friday, Feb. 15, at West Virginia Independence Hall in Wheeling, Ohio County. St. Joseph the Worker School, with students Antonio Aguirre, Hannah Buterbaugh, Rylie Cottrill and Juliana Velegol, was the runner-up.

Region 6 is made up of students from Brooke, Hancock, Marshall, Ohio and Wetzel counties. Competitors included teams from Bridge Street Middle School (two teams), Wheeling, Ohio County; Brooke Middle School (two teams), Wellsburg, Brooke County; Cameron High School (two teams), Cameron, Marshall County; Long Drain Middle School (one team), Metz, Wetzel County; Moundsville Middle School (two teams), Moundsville, Marshall County; Sherrard Middle School (two teams), Wheeling, Marshall County; St. Joseph the Worker School (one team), Weirton, Hancock County; Triadelphia Middle School (two teams), Wheeling, Ohio County; Warwood School (one team), Wheeling, Ohio County; and Wheeling Middle School (one team), Wheeling, Ohio County.

The West Virginia History Bowl features questions compiled by the staff of Archives and History about the state’s architecture, arts, culture, geography, government, history, people, literature and sports.

The Archives and History staff has developed more than 2,000 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams that are preparing for the History Bowl tournaments may use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the department’s website,

Eighth graders in public, private and homeschool education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams in double-elimination tournament play. The regional winners and runner-up teams from each region will then advance to the state tournament, which will take place April 30 at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex in Charleston.

For more information about the annual competition, contact Matt McGrew, History Bowl coordinator, at (304) 558-0230 or

– 30 –