PINEVILLE, W.Va. – Shady Spring Middle School Team One, with students Cole Chapman, Preston Mathew, Connor Miller and Ryle Yearego, won the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History’s Region 1 tournament for the 2019 West Virginia History Bowl on Saturday, Feb. 9, at Pineville Middle School, Pineville, Wyoming County. Shady Spring Middle School Team Two, with students Braden Chapman, Riley Radford, Lacie Scott and Braylie Wiseman, was the runner-up.

Region 1 is made up of students from McDowell, Mercer, Monroe, Raleigh, Summers and Wyoming counties. Competitors included teams from Baileysville Middle School (one team), Brenton, Wyoming County; Glen Fork Elementary and Middle School (one team), Glen Fork, Wyoming County; Huff Consolidated Elementary and Middle School (two teams), Hanover, Wyoming County; Independence Middle School (two teams), Sophia, Raleigh County; Mountain View Elementary/Middle School (two teams), Union, Monroe County; Mullens Middle School (two teams), Mullens, Wyoming County; Ocean Middle School (one team), Oceana, Wyoming County; Park Middle School (two teams), Beckley, Raleigh County; Peterstown Middle School (two teams), Peterstown, Monroe County; Pineville Middle School (two teams), Pineville, Wyoming County; Road Branch Elementary/ Middle School (one team), Cyclone, Wyoming County; Shady Spring Middle School (two teams), Shady Spring, Raleigh County; and Summers Middle School (one team), Hinton, Summers County.

The West Virginia History Bowl features questions compiled by the staff of Archives and History about the state’s architecture, arts, culture, geography, government, history, people, literature and sports.

The Archives and History staff has developed more than 2,000 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams that are preparing for the History Bowl tournaments may use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the department’s website,

Eighth graders in public, private and homeschool education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams in double-elimination tournament play. The regional winners and runner-up teams from each region will then advance to the state tournament, which will take place April 30 at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex in Charleston.

For more information about the annual competition, contact Matt McGrew, History Bowl coordinator, at (304) 558-0230 or