CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The eighth annual West Virginia Marching Band Invitational Championship will feature high school bands from around the state on Saturday, Oct. 19, at the University of Charleston Stadium, Laidley Field. The invitational will include competition and exhibition performances this year. Princeton Middle School will open the event at 9:30 a.m.

In 2017 the West Virginia State Legislature proclaimed this invitational “The Official State Marching Band Championship of West Virginia.”

“We are pleased to have high school and middle school bands from across the Mountain State attending this year’s invitational,” West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History Curator Randall Reid-Smith said. “This invitational gives us an opportunity to showcase the musical talents of West Virginia students. For the last several years, the department has partnered with Save The Music Foundation and generous donors around the state to provide musical instruments to middle schools throughout the state. Now, these students are moving into high school where they are helping to grow those marching bands. This invitational is a way for us to highlight that growing interest in music.”

The invitational includes competition judging for music, music effect, general effect, marching, percussion, drum major, color guard, majorettes and twirlers. A Miss Majorette competition is also held at the event.

Throughout the afternoon and evening, five band directors will be inducted into the Marching Band Hall of Fame.

This year, the invitational will feature a special drumline competition. The preliminary rounds will begin at 1:45 p.m. on the State Capitol Complex and will feature drumlines from 11 schools. A full schedule of the marching band and drumline competitions is listed below.

The invitational will begin at 9:30 a.m. and continue throughout the day, culminating in an awards program that evening. Admission is $8 for ages 12 and older and $7 for 11 and younger.

The Marching Band Invitational at Laidley Field schedule for the day is:

9:30 a.m.         Princeton Middle School
9:45 a.m.         Chapmanville Middle School
10 a.m.            Wirt County High School
10:15 a.m.       St. Marys High School
10:30 a.m.       Wyoming East High School
10:45 a.m.       Bluefield High School
11 a.m.            Westside High School
11:15 a.m.       Lincoln County High School
11:30 a.m.       Liberty High School
                        Trap Hill Middle
11:45 a.m.       Doddridge County High School
Noon              Scott High School    
                        Hall of Fame Presentation – Keith Reed
12:30 p.m.      LUNCH
1 p.m.             Calhoun Middle/High School
1:15 p.m.        Shady Spring High School
1:30 p.m.        Clay County High School
1:45 p.m.        Sherman High School
2 p.m.             Ravenswood High School
2:15 p.m.        Magnolia High School
2:30 p.m.        Woodrow Wilson High School
2:45 p.m.        Parkersburg High School
3:15 p.m.        Greenbrier West High School
3 p.m.             Hall of Fame Presentation – Gary Stewart
3:30 p.m.        Greenbrier East High School
3:45 p.m.        Valley High School
4:00 p.m.        Robert C. Byrd High School
4:15 p.m.        Wayne High School
4:30 p.m.        Tygarts Valley High School
4:45 p.m.        Man High School
5:00 p.m.        Paden City High School
5:15 p.m.        Hall of Fame Presentation – Debra Price
5:30 p.m.        Braxton County High School
5:45 p.m.        St. Albans High School
6:00 p.m.        Poca High School
6:15 p.m.        Spring Valley High School
6:30 p.m.        Buffalo High School
6:45 p.m.        Hurricane High School
7 p.m.             Hall of Fame Presentation – Dale Riley
7:15 p.m.        Nitro High School
7:30 p.m.        Webster County High School
7:45 p.m.        Richwood High School
8:00 p.m.        Princeton High School
8:15 p.m.        Frankfort High School
8:30 p.m.        Hall of Fame Presentation – Roger Walker
8:45 p.m.        Philip Barbour High School
9:00 p.m.        Huntington High School
9:15 p.m.        Cabell Midland High School
9:30 p.m.        MISS MAJORETTE
9:50 p.m.        Drumline Finals
10:15 p.m.      Awards

Schedule for Drumline Preliminary Competition at State Capitol Complex:

1:45 p.m.        Greenbrier East High School            
2 p.m.             Robert C. Byrd High School             
2:12 p.m.        Tygarts Valley High School          
2:24 p.m.        Poca High School                   
2:48 p.m.        Lincoln High School                          
3 p.m.             Westside High School  
3:12 p.m.        St. Albans High School  
3:24 p.m.        Philip Barbour High School              
3:36 p.m.        Richwood High School   
3:48 p.m.        Cabell Midland High School            
4 p.m.             Parkersburg High School


More Info…