CHARLESTON, W.Va. —Cameron High School Team One in Marshall County won the West Virginia Division of Culture and History’s sixth annual West Virginia State History Bowl held Tuesday, May 5, at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex.

Fairview Middle School in Marion County was the runner-up in the competition that included 24 teams of eighth graders from 18 middle schools in 13 counties from across the state.

The all-tournament team, made up of students who demonstrated exceptional knowledge and teamwork during the day-long tournament, included Agape Barrett, Keyser Middle School,  Keyser, Mineral County; Paige Butler, Cameron High School Team One, Cameron, Marshall County; Abby Pride, Fairview Middle School, Fairview, Marion County; and Wyatt Tabor, Wayne Middle School Team Two, Wayne, Wayne County. 

Jordyn Hughes of Cameron High School Team One was named the Most Valuable Player.

“We are proud to host the West Virginia State History Bowl and enjoy the excitement and dedication the eighth-grade students have for these tournaments,” said Commissioner Randall Reid-Smith of the West Virginia Division of Culture and History. “We especially appreciate the teachers, parents and advisors who take time to help the students study for the competition. They enjoy the event as much as the students.”

The double-elimination tournament includes lightning rounds and team rounds featuring questions about state and county history, culture, heritage, tourism, geography, government and sports prepared by the staff of the division’s Archives and History section.  Eighth graders in public, private and home-school education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams.

The Archives and History staff has developed more than 1,800 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams preparing for the tournament were able to use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the division’s website,

The championship team, Cameron High School Team One, included Paige Butler, Tyler Hill, Jordyn Hughes and Trin Scott.

The runner-up team, Fairview Middle School, included Jessica Bleigh, Shelby Chisler, Amaya Insani and Abby Pride.

The Third-place team, Wayne Middle School Team Two, included Brad Cremeans, Braden Ross, Alex Simpkins and Wyatt Tabor.

The Fourth-place team, Madison Middle School, included Brooke Burns, Piper Cook, Isaac Miller and Grace Thompson.

Competitors included the following teams:

Andrew Jackson Middle School                                             Cross Lanes, Kanawha County
Belington Middle School                                                          Belington, Barbour County
Cameron High School (2 teams)                                             Cameron, Marshall County
East Hardy Early/Middle School (2 teams)                           Baker, Hardy County
Edison Middle School                                                               Parkersburg, Wood County
Fairview Middle School                                                           Fairview, Marion County
Frankfort Middle School                                                          Ridgeley, Mineral County
Independence Middle School (2 teams)                                Sophia, Raleigh County
Jackson Middle School (2 teams)                                            Vienna, Wood County
Keyser Middle School                                                              Keyser, Mineral County
Madison Middle School                                                           Madison, Boone County
Peterstown Middle School                                                      Peterstown, Monroe County
Richwood Middle School                                                         Richwood, Nicholas County
Shady Spring Middle School (2 teams)                                 Shady Spring, Raleigh County
Sissonville Middle School                                                        Sissonville, Kanawha County
Summersville Middle School                                                  Summersville, Nicholas County
Taylor County Middle School                                                 Grafton, Taylor County
Wayne Middle School (2 teams)                                             Wayne, Wayne County

For more information, contact Matt McGrew, tournament director and education coordinator for Archives and History, at (304) 558-0230.

The West Virginia Division of Culture and History is an agency within the West Virginia Department of Education and the Arts with Kay Goodwin, Cabinet Secretary. The division, led by Commissioner Randall Reid-Smith, brings together the past, present and future through programs and services focusing on archives and history, arts, historic preservation and museums. For more information about the division’s programs, events and sites, visit The Division of Culture and History is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer.

– 30 –