CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Cameron High School Team One in Marshall County won the West Virginia Division of Culture and History’s (WVDCH) ninth annual West Virginia State History Bowl Championship held Tuesday, April 24, at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex.

South Middle School Team One in Monongalia County was the runner-up in the competition that included 24 teams of eighth graders from 15 middle schools in 12 counties across the state.

The all-tournament team, made up of students who demonstrated exceptional knowledge and teamwork during the day-long tournament, included Abbi Carney, Cameron High School Team One, Cameron, Marshall County; Nolan Cook, South Middle School Team One, Morgantown, Monongalia County; Elijah Hall, South Middle School Team One, Morgantown, Monongalia County; Cody Nantz, Madison Middle School Team One, Madison, Boone County; Eric Harvey, Keyser Middle School Team One, Keyser, Mineral County; and Eric “E.J.” Guy, Keyser Middle School Team Two, Keyser, Mineral County.

Abbi Carney of Cameron High School Team One was named the Most Valuable Player.

The double-elimination tournament includes lightning rounds and team rounds featuring questions about state and county history, culture, heritage, tourism, geography, government and sports prepared by the staff of the division’s Archives and History section. Eighth graders in public, private and home-school education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams.

The Archives and History staff has developed more than 2,000 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams preparing for the tournament could use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the division’s website,

The championship team, Cameron High School Team One, included students Montgomery Bertram, Abbi Carney, Russell Dillon and Arielle Yost.

The runner-up team, South Middle School Team One, included students Katelyn Blosser, Nolan Cook, Elijah Hall and Julia Leyden.

The third-place team, Madison Middle School Team One, included students Jalynn Browning, Allison Frye, Selina Lin and Cody Nantz.

The fourth-place team, Keyser Middle School Team One, included students Billie Jo Bane, Eric Harvey, Zoe Long and Hunter Powell.

For more information, contact Matt McGrew, tournament director and education coordinator for Archives and History, at (304) 558-0230.

Competitors included the following teams:
Belington Middle School                                                    Belington, Barbour County
Cameron High School (two teams)                                   Cameron, Marshall County
Frankfort Middle School (two teams)                               Ridgeley, Mineral County
Jackson Middle School (two teams)                                  Vienna, Wood County
Keyser Middle School (two teams)                                   Keyser, Mineral County
Madison Middle School (two teams)                                Madison, Boone County
Mountain View Elementary/ Middle School                   Union, Monroe County
Mountaineer Middle School                                               Morgantown, Monongalia County
Peterstown Middle School                                                 Peterstown, Monroe County
Shady Spring Middle School (two teams)                        Shady Spring, Raleigh County
South Middle School (two teams)                                     Morgantown, Monongalia County
Summersville Middle School                                             Summersville, Nicholas County
St. Joseph Parish School (two teams)                                Martinsburg, Berkeley County
Wayne Middle School (two teams)                                   Wayne, Wayne County
Webster County High School                                            Upperglade, Webster County