WHEELING, W.Va. – Cameron High School Team One, with students Montgomery Bertram, Abbi Carney, Russell Dillon and Arielle Yost, won the West Virginia Division of Culture and History’s Region 6 tournament for the 2018 West Virginia History Bowl on Friday, Feb. 16, at West Virginia Independence Hall in Wheeling, Ohio County. Cameron High School Team Two, with students Ian Elswick, Nathan Haeberle, Kaylee Reynolds and Chloe Yocum, was the runner-up.

            Region 6 is made up of students from Brooke, Hancock, Marshall, Ohio and Wetzel counties. Competitors included teams from Bridge Street Middle School (two teams), Wheeling, Ohio County; Cameron High School (two teams), Cameron, Marshall County; Follansbee Middle School (one team), Follansbee, Brooke County; Moundsville Middle School (two teams), Moundsville, Marshall County; Sherrard Middle School (two teams), Wheeling, Marshall County; St. Joseph the Worker School (one team), Weirton, Hancock County; Triadelphia Middle School (one team), Wheeling, Ohio County; Warwood School (one team), Wheeling, Ohio County; and Wheeling Middle School (one team), Wheeling, Ohio County.

            The West Virginia History Bowl features questions compiled by the staff of Archives and History about the state’s architecture, arts, culture, geography, government, history, people, literature and sports.

            The Archives and History staff has developed more than 2,000 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams that are preparing for the History Bowl tournaments may use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the division’s website,

            Eighth graders in public, private and homeschool education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams in double-elimination tournament play. The regional winners and runner-up teams from each region will then advance to the state tournament, which will take place April 24 at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex in Charleston.

            For more information about the annual competition, contact Matt McGrew, History Bowl coordinator, at (304) 558-0230 or

            The West Virginia Division of Culture and History is an agency within the Office of Secretary of Education and the Arts with Gayle Manchin, cabinet secretary. The division, led by Commissioner Randall Reid-Smith, brings together the past, present and future through programs and services focusing on archives and history, arts, historic preservation and museums. For more information about the division’s programs, events and sites, visit The Division of Culture and History is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer.

– 30 –