CHARLESTON, W.Va. – On Saturday, Oct. 24, 35 high school marching bands from across the state will compete in Charleston at the University of Charleston Stadium at Laidley Field for the 4th annual West Virginia Marching Band Invitational.

The West Virginia Marching Band Invitational is sponsored by the West Virginia Division of Culture and History (WVDCH) in participation with the VH1 Save The Music Foundation, the Higher Education Policy Commission and the West Virginia Department of Education and The Arts. The Marching Band Invitational helps to promote, encourage and celebrate arts education throughout West Virginia.

The day’s activities begin at 10:30 a.m. with the Hurricane Middle School Band’s performance of “The Star Spangled Banner” and Sissonville High School’s JROTC posting of the colors. The competition begins at 10:45 a.m. and will continue throughout the day.

Bands will be judged on general effect, marching and maneuvering, music, music effect, percussion, drum major, color guard, majorettes and feature twirler.

Tickets are $7 for adults and children 12 years of age and older; $5 for children under 12 years of age. Programs will be sold for $4.

A complete performance schedule is attached.

10:30 a.m.      Hurricane Middle School Band and Sissonville High School JROTC
                        National Anthem and Posting of Colors

10:45 a.m.      Wirt County High School (1A)
                        Elizabeth, Wirt County

11 a.m.           St. Marys High School (2A)
                        St. Marys, Pleasants County

11:15 a.m.      Lincoln County High School (1AAA)
                        Hamlin, Lincoln County

11:30 a.m.      Calhoun County Middle/High School (1A)
                        Mt. Zion, Calhoun County

11:45 a.m.      Fayetteville High School (2A)
                        Fayetteville, Fayette County

Noon              Poca High School (1AA)
                        Poca, Putnam County

12:15 p.m.      Pikeview High School (2AA)
                        Princeton, Mercer County

12:30 p.m.      St. Albans High School (2AAA)
                        St. Albans, Kanawha County

12:45 p.m.      LUNCH

1:30 p.m.        Lewis County High School (1AAA)
                        Weston, Lewis County

1:45 p.m.        Buffalo High School (1A)
                        Buffalo, Putnam County

2 p.m.             Tyler Consolidated High School (2A)
                        Sistersville, Tyler County

2:15 p.m.        Sissonville High School, (1AA)
                        Sissonville, Kanawha County

2:30 p.m.        Chapmanville Regional High School (1AA)
Chapmanville, Logan County

2:45 p.m.        Doddridge County High School (2A)
                        West Union, Doddridge County

3 p.m.             Martinsburg High School (3AAA)
                        Martinsburg, Berkeley County

3:15 p.m.        Percussion Exhibition        
                        Bethany College Percussion Ensemble
                        Bethany, Brooke County

3:30 p.m.        Paden City High School (1A)
                        Paden City, Wetzel County

3:45 p.m.        Ritchie County High School (1AA)
                        Ellenboro, Ritchie County
4 p.m.             Tug Valley High School (2A)
                        Williamson, Mingo County

4:15 p.m.        Webster County High School (2AA)
                        Upper Glade, Webster County

4:30 p.m.        Oak Hill High School (1AAA)
                        Oak Hill, Fayette County

4:45 p.m.        Buckhannon-Upshur High School (2AAA)
                        Buckhannon, Upshur County

5 p.m.             Shady Spring High School (1AAA)
                        Shady Spring, Raleigh County

5:15 p.m.        Majorette Competition
                        Miss Majorette

5:45 p.m.        Wahama Junior/Senior High School (1A)
                        Mason, Mason County

6 p.m.             Magnolia High School (2A)
                        New Martinsville, Wetzel County
6:15 p.m.        Petersburg High School (1AA)
                        Petersburg, Grant County

6:30 p.m.        Philip Barbour High School (2AA)
                        Philippi, Barbour County
6:45 p.m.        Nitro High School (1AAA)
                        Nitro, Kanawha County

7 p.m.             Hurricane High School (3AAA)
                        Hurricane, Putnam County
7:15 p.m.        Gilmer County High School (1A)
                        Glenville, Gilmer County

7:30 p.m.        Richwood High School (2A)
                        Richwood, Nicholas County
7:45 p.m.        Wayne High School (2AA)
                        Wayne, Wayne County
8 p.m.             Huntington High School (2AAA)
                        Huntington, Cabell County

8:15 p.m.        Greenbrier East High School (3AAA)
                        Lewisburg, Greenbrier County

8:30 p.m.        Ripley High School (2AAA)
                        Ripley, Jackson County

8:45 p.m.        Cabell Midland High School (3AAA)
                        Ona, Cabell County

9 p.m.             Awards                     
                        Awards Presentations