West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture & History

Martin Luther King Jr. “Living the Dream” Nominations Open


CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The Martin Luther King, Jr. West Virginia Holiday Commission is seeking nominees for the “Living the Dream” awards and Service Organization Honor Roll that will be presented during the state’s Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday observance Jan. 19, 2013. The public is invited to nominate candidates for the five awards, which are given annually by the commission. Nominations will be accepted through Dec. 17, 2012.

The five awards are presented to individuals who best exemplify, through action or personal traits, the principles and ideals that King characterized in his pursuit of social change. Any person, regardless of race, color or creed, may be nominated for the awards.

The Living the Dream award categories are:

1. Advocate of Peace: A person who has been or is now an advocate of social change in a nonviolent way
2. Sharing of Self: A person who has rendered service to others in the public or private sector
3. Human and Civil Rights: A person who has been or is actively involved in the pursuit of equality for others and who is an advocate of social change
4. Scholarship: A person who has made significant contributions in the area of education
5. Governor’s Living the Dream Award: A person who best exemplifies all the characteristics of justice, scholarship, sharing of self, human and civil rights, and advocacy of peace and who has a heightened sense of civic awareness and public service

To be nominated for the Service Organization Honor Roll, an organization must demonstrate one or more of the principles for which King stood. Those include promotion of human and civil rights; assistance to underserved communities; promotion of tolerance; and resolution of conflict in a nonviolent manner.

Nominations for all awards should include a typewritten essay no more than two pages in length that discusses the qualities of the individual or organization being nominated and specific examples of how the nominee meets the standards of the specific award category. A biography of the candidate or activities of the organization, along with any other materials highlighting community involvement, should be included with the nomination.

Nominations must include the name of the person submitting the entry as well as an address, daytime phone number and email address.

All entries must be received by 5 p.m. on Dec. 17 at the West Virginia Division of Culture and History, The Culture Center, Attention: MLK Living the Dream Awards, 1900 Kanawha Blvd., E., Charleston, W.Va. 25305.

The West Virginia Division of Culture and History is an agency within the West Virginia Department of Education and the Arts with Kay Goodwin, Cabinet Secretary. The Division, led by Commissioner Randall Reid-Smith, brings together the past, present and future through programs and services focusing on archives and history, arts, historic preservation and museums. For more information about the Division’s programs, events and sites, visit www.wvculture.org. The Division of Culture and History is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer.

– 30 –


Exit mobile version