West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture & History

Eleven Governor’s Arts Awards Presented to Individuals and Organizations Along with Ten Legislative Leadership Awards

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – On Tuesday, March 1, 2022, the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History (WVDACH) and the West Virginia Commission on the Arts sponsored the Governor’s Arts Awards at the Culture Center, State Capitol Complex in Charleston. During the awards ceremony, 11 Governor’s Arts Awards and 10 Legislative Leadership Awards in the Arts were presented. The 6 p.m. program included performances by Barbara Nissman on piano; The Mountain Stage Band; Delegate Caleb Hanna; Cathey Sawyer; the Cabell Midland Jazz Knights, directed by Tim James; and Key to Adam, with Adam Moyer and Kiara Williams. Matt Thomas, West Virginia artist, was commissioned by the WVDACH to make the awards, blending the timeless grain of wood with the permanence of hand-forged steel. Award recipients are listed below.

The Governor’s Arts Awards are presented biennially to celebrate the state’s creative spirit and the amazing talents of the people and groups that produce art. They also recognize those whose willingness to support arts organizations and artists help to ensure the arts maintain an important place in our communities and schools. Through the restructuring of the Department of Arts, Culture and History in 2018, Governor Jim Justice, along with the WVDACH, continue to show their commitment to promoting and strengthening the arts in the Mountain State despite state budget cuts and the COVID-19 pandemic. Governor Justice has been a dedicated advocate for the arts, especially arts in education. He believes a focus on arts in schools builds a strong foundation for excelling in other areas, which is one of the main reasons he chose an educator to receive this year’s lifetime achievement award.

The Governor’s Arts Awards include Artist of the Year and Arts Organization of the Year Award, which recognizes an individual artist and an organization who has impacted the exposure to the arts in West Virginia through his or her work; Arts in Education Award, which recognizes efforts to strengthen arts education in public schools; Susan S. Landis Distinguished Service Award to the Arts, which recognizes individuals and organizations of exceptional talent and creativity that have fostered growth and influenced trends and aesthetic practices on a state and national level; Folk Arts Award, which recognizes individuals and organizations that have demonstrated exceptional leadership or skill in the field of folk and traditional arts within West Virginia; Resiliency in the Arts Award, which recognizes a West Virginia individual or organization that demonstrated creative solutions and leadership in the wake of COVID-19 restrictions; and the Governor’s Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement, presented by Governor Justice, which recognizes an individual or organization for a lifetime of significant commitment to the arts through personal talent and skills, lifelong arts educational leadership, and support of arts development in West Virginia..

The Legislative Leadership in the Arts Awards include Arts in Education Awards, Community Arts Awards, Cultural Facilities Awards, Folk Arts and Lifetime Achievement, which are presented to those members of the Legislature who have made significant contributions in the arts.

A panel of members from the West Virginia Commission on the Arts and staff of the Department of Arts, Culture and History selected winners who were nominated based on the magnitude of their contributions and achievements, the range of individuals or groups served, the length of time and intensity of their dedication to the arts and their level of excellence.


Lifetime Achievement

Tim James, Director of Bands, Cabell Midland High School, Barboursville, Cabell County

Artist of the Year

Jenn Lockwood, Capon Bridge, Hampshire County

Arts Organization of the Year

ART26201, Buckhannon, Upshur County

Arts in Education

Individual – Jim Allder, Caldwell, Greenbrier County

Organization – Farms Work Wonders, Wardensville, Hardy County

Folk Arts Award

Individual – Adam Booth, Shepherdstown, Jefferson County

Organization – Augusta Heritage Center, Elkins, Randolph County

Resiliency in the Arts Award

Individual – Key to Adam, Adam Moyer and Kiara Williams, Buckhannon, Upshur County

Organization – Wheeling Symphony Orchestra, Wheeling, Ohio County

Susan S. Landis Distinguished Service to the Arts

Individual – John Elliott, Charleston, Kanawha County

Organization – Coalfield Development Corporation, Huntington, Cabell County


Arts in Education

Senator Rollan Roberts

Delegate Caleb Hanna

Community Arts

Senator Richard Lindsay

Delegate Jason Barrett

Cultural Facilities

Senator Mike Maroney

Delegate Amy Summers

Folk Arts

Senator Rupie Phillips

Delegate Charlie Reynolds

Lifetime Achievement

Senator Charles S. Trump IV

Delegate Brent Boggs

MEDIA NOTE: Any requests for photographs from the event can be made to Andrea.E.Nelson@wv.gov or Stephen.C.Brightwell@wv.gov. All photos will be available at a later date at wvculture.zenfolio.com.

All Photo Credits: Stephen Brightwell, West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History

Exit mobile version